Physics 135-2 (E & M)
 Fall 2015
  Northwestern University
  Department of Physics & Astronomy
  Dr. David Taylor


Homework (Numbers refer to the 10th edition)
Mon, Sept 21 21-8, 9, 18, 31, 42, 60, 64, 66
    Solutions
Wed, Sept 23 22-9, 11, 25, 30, 37
    Solutions
Fri, Sept 25 22-21, 49, 59, 83
    Solutions


Mon, Sept 28 23-3, 4, 12, 16, 57, 58
    Solutions
Wed, Sept 30 23-19, 39, 40, 41
    Solutions
Fri, Oct 2 23-29, 30, 31, 49, 52, 53
    Solutions


Mon, Oct 5 24-3, 6, 7, 9
    Solutions
Wed, Oct 7 24-15, 16, 20
    Solutions
Fri, Oct 9 24-28, 30, 35, 36, 37, 44, 45
    Solutions


Mon, Oct 12 25-10, 11, 14, 19, 57
    Solutions
Wed, Oct 14 25-46, 47, 48, 49, 50
    Solutions
Fri, Oct 16 26-11, 17, 23, 25, 31, 45, 46, 68
    Solutions


Mon, Oct 19 27-2, 3, 6, 12, 16
    Solutions
Wed, Oct 21 27-23, 27, 29, 30, 33, 36
    Solutions
Fri, Oct 23 27-58, 62, 64, 65
    Solutions


Mon, Oct 26 28-3, 4, 11
    Solutions
Wed, Oct 28 28-14, 15, 31, 35, 36, 45, 49
    Solutions
Fri, Oct 30 29-1, 7, 11, 12, 15, 16, 27
    Solutions


Mon, Nov 2 29-35, 36, 44, 48
    Solutions
Wed, Nov 4 29-49, 51, 52, 53, 59
    Solutions
Fri, Nov 6 30-3, 7, 11, 15, 21, 34
    Solutions


Mon, Nov 9 30-40, 44, 51, 56, 62
    Solutions
Wed, Nov 11 31-5, 11, 13, 23, 26
    Solutions
Fri, Nov 13 16-35, 37, 31-28, 29, 30, 33
    Solutions


Mon, Nov 16 31-35, 36, 37, 53, 56, 64
    Solutions
Wed, Nov 18 32-3, 8, 9, 17, 23, 24
    Solutions
Fri, Nov 20 32-30, 31, 47, 52
    Solutions


Mon, Nov 23 33-5, 21, 24
    Solutions
Wed, Nov 25 33-34, 36, 41, 43
    Solutions
Handouts
Course Syllabus
Metric Prefixes
TA Office Hours
Physics Labs
Electric Field for an Arc
Dipole Derivation
Huge Back-emf Movie

Lecture Slides
Lec 1, 9/21
Lec 2, 9/23
Lec 3, 9/25

Lec 4, 9/28
Lec 5, 9/30
Lec 6, 10/2

Lec 7, 10/5
Lec 8 (no slides)
Lec 9, 10/9

Lec 10, 10/12
Lec 11, 10/14
Lec 12, 10/16

Lec 13, 10/19
Lec 14 (no slides)
Lec 15 (no slides)

Lec 16, 10/26
Lec 17, 10/28
Lec 18, 10/30

Lec 19, 11/2
Lec 20, 11/4
Lec 21, 11/6

Lec 22, 11/9
Lec 23, 11/11
Lec 24, 11/13

Lec 25, 11/16
Lec 26, 11/18
Lecture 27 (no slides)

Lec 28, 11/23
Lec 29, 11/25

Quizzes/Exams
Sample Quiz
Sample Quiz Solution
Quiz 1, 10 am key
Quiz 1, 1 pm key
Quiz 2, 10 am key
Quiz 2, 1 pm key
Sample Midterm 1
Sample Midterm 1 key
Sample Midterm 2
Sample Midterm 2 key
Midterm I at 10 am
Midterm I at 1 pm
Midterm Grades
Dr. David Taylor
Phone:  491-2053
email: d-taylor2@northwestern.edu
Office Hours:  Thu 2:30 – 5
     and by appointment
Location:  Dearborn 11

Graduate Assistant:  Anirudh Krovi
email:
VenkatKrovi2014@u.northwestern.edu
Office Hours:  Mon 2 – 4, Wed 10 – 12
Location:  Dearborn 14

Graduate Assistant:  Matthew Rickert
email:
MatthewRickert2017@u.northwestern.edu
Office Hours:  Mon 2 – 4, Wed 4 – 6
Location:  Dearborn 14

Discussion Leader:  Michael Schmitt
email:
m-schmitt@northwestern.edu
Office Hours:  Tue 2 – 3
     and by appointment
Location:  Tech F113