Physics 135-2 (E & M)
 Fall 2016
  Northwestern University
  Department of Physics & Astronomy
  Dr. David Taylor


Homework (Numbers refer to the 10th edition)
Wed, Sept 21 21-8, 9, 18, 31, 42, 60, 64, 66
    Solutions
Fri, Sept 23 22-21, 49, 59, 83
    Solutions


Mon, Sept 26 22-9, 11, 25, 30, 37
    Solutions
Wed, Sept 28 23-3, 4, 12, 16, 57, 58
    Solutions
Fri, Sept 30 23-19, 39, 40, 41
    Solutions


Mon, Oct 3 23-29, 30, 31, 49, 52, 53
    Solutions
Wed, Oct 5 24-3, 6, 7, 9
    Solutions
24-15, 16, 20
    Solutions
Fri, Oct 7 24-28, 30, 35, 36, 37, 44, 45
    Solutions


Mon, Oct 10 25-10, 11, 14, 19, 57
    Solutions
Wed, Oct 12 25-46, 47, 48, 49, 50
    Solutions
Fri, Oct 14 26-11, 17, 23, 25, 31, 45, 46, 68
    Solutions


Mon, Oct 17 27-2, 3, 6, 12, 16
    Solutions
Wed, Oct 19 27-23, 27, 29, 30, 33, 36
    Solutions
Fri, Oct 21 27-58, 62, 64, 65
    Solutions


Mon, Oct 24 28-3, 4, 11
    Solutions
Wed, Oct 26 28-14, 15, 31, 35, 36, 45, 49
    Solutions
Fri, Oct 28 29-1, 7, 11, 12, 15, 16, 27
    Solutions


Mon, Oct 31 29-35, 36, 44, 48
    Solutions
Wed, Nov 2 29-49, 51, 52, 53, 59
    Solutions
Fri, Nov 4 30-3, 7, 11, 15, 21, 34
    Solutions


Mon, Nov 7 30-40, 44, 51, 56, 62
    Solutions
Wed, Nov 9 31-5, 11, 13, 23, 26
    Solutions
Fri, Nov 11 16-35, 37, 31-28, 29, 30, 33
    Solutions


Mon, Nov 14 31-35, 36, 37, 53, 56, 64
    Solutions
Wed, Nov 16 32-3, 8, 9, 17, 23, 24
    Solutions
Fri, Nov 18 32-30, 31, 47, 52
    Solutions


Mon, Nov 21 33-5, 21, 24
    Solutions
Wed, Nov 23 33-34, 36, 41, 43
    Solutions
Handouts
Course Syllabus
ABCD Voting Card
Metric Prefixes
TA Office Hours
Physics Labs
Dipole Derivation
Electric Field for an Arc
Huge Back-emf Movie
Quiz Grades
Final Grades

Lecture Slides
Lec 1, 9/21
Lec 2, 9/23

Lec 3, 9/26
Lec 4, 9/28
Lec 5, 9/30

Lec 6, 10/3
Lec 7, 10/5
Lec 8, 10/7

Lec 9, 10/10
Lec 10, 10/12
Lec 11, 10/14

Lec 12, 10/17
Lec 13 (no slides)
Lec 14 (no slides)

Lec 15, 10/24
Lec 16, 10/26
Lec 17, 10/28

Lec 18, 10/31
Lec 19, 11/2
Lec 20, 11/4

Lec 21, 11/7
Lec 22, 11/9
Lec 23, 11/11

Lec 24, 11/14
Lec 25, 11/16
Lecture 26 (no slides)

Lec 27, 11/21
Lec 28, 11/23

Quizzes/Exams
Sample Quiz
Sample Quiz Solution
Quiz 1 @ 10am
Quiz 1 @ 1pm
Quiz 2 @ 10am
Quiz 2 @ 1pm
Old Midterm
Old Midterm key
10 am Midterm key
1 pm Midterm key
Quiz 3 @ 10am
Quiz 3 @ 1pm
Quiz 4 @ 10am
Quiz 4 @ 1pm
Sample Midterm II
Sample Midterm II key
10 am Midterm II key
1 pm Midterm II key
Quiz 5 @ 10am
Quiz 5 @ 1pm
Quiz 6 @ 10am
Quiz 6 @ 1pm
2012 Final
2012 Final Key
10am Final Key
1pm Final Key
Dr. David Taylor
Phone:  491-2053
email: d-taylor2@northwestern.edu
Office Hours:  Thu 2:30 – 4 pm
     and by appointment
Location:  Dearborn 11

Graduate Assistant:  Michael Katz
email:
michaelkatz2016@u.northwestern.edu
Office Hours:  MW 4 – 6 pm
Location:  Dearborn 14

Graduate Assistant:  Wei-Ting Lin
email:
WeiTingLin2014@u.northwestern.edu
Office Hours:  Tue 2 – 4 pm, Wed 8 – 10 pm
Location:  Dearborn 14

Graduate Assistant:  Dylan Temples
email:
DylanTemples2015@u.northwestern.edu
Office Hours:  MW 6 – 8 pm
Location:  Dearborn 14

Graduate Assistant:  Shi Ye
email:
ShiYe2015@u.northwestern.edu
Office Hours:  Tue 4 – 6 pm, Wed 2 – 4 pm
Location:  Dearborn 14