Physics 135-3 (Modern Physics)
 Spring 2018
  Northwestern University
  Department of Physics & Astronomy
  Dr. David Taylor


Homework (Numbers refer to the 9th edition)
Tue, Apr 3 16-4, 7, 10, 12
    Solutions
Wed, Apr 4 16-18, 21, 33, 41, 49
    Solutions
Fri, Apr 6 17-6, 16, 17, 27, 28, 30, 53
    Solutions

Mon, Apr 9 17-38, 39, 40, 43
    Solutions
Wed, Apr 11 17-55, 56, 59, 63
    Solutions
Fri, Apr 13 33-33, 34
    Solutions

Mon, Apr 16 33-47, 51, 54, 58, 59, 68
    Solutions
Wed, Apr 18 34-40, 41, 80 to 87
    Solutions
Fri, Apr 20 34-90
    Solutions

Mon, Apr 23 35-14, 15, 20,26
    Solutions
Wed, Apr 25 35-36, 37, 38, 53, 70
    Solutions
Fri, Apr 27 36-4, 6, 7, 10, 13
    Solutions

Mon, Apr 30 36-19, 20, 37, 38, 48, 55, 58
    Solutions
Wed, May 2 37-4, 5
    Solutions
Fri, May 4 37-9, 13, 29, 33
    Solutions

Mon, May 7 37-36, 37, 43, 45, 48, 33-24, 29
    Solutions
Wed, May 9 Outside Textbook
    Solutions
Fri, May 11 38-51, 53, 63, 74
    Solutions

Mon, May 14 39-3, 4, 8, 13
    Solutions
Wed, May 16 39-33, 40, 42
    Solutions
Fri, May 18 40-1, 2, 3, 10
    Solutions

Mon, May 21 40-27, 28, 29, 31
    Solutions
Wed, May 23 40-36, 39, 52, 59, 64
    Solutions
Fri, May 25 42-8, 14, 17, 83
    Solutions

Wed, May 30 42-30, 31, 34, 50, 57, 60, 79
    Solutions
Fri, June 1 43-9, 10, 12, 21
    Solutions
Mon, June 4 43-37, 45, 49
    Solutions

Handouts
Midterm Grades
Course Syllabus
Metric Prefixes
TA Office Hours
Doppler Handout
Telescope Handout
Diffraction Movie
Relativity Essay

Lecture Slides
Lecture 1,  4/3
Lecture 2,  4/4
Lecture 3,  4/6
Lecture 4,  4/9
Lecture 5,  4/11
Lecture 6,  4/13
Lecture 7,  4/16
Lecture 8,  4/18
Lecture 9,  4/20
Lecture 10,  4/23
Lecture 11,  4/25
Lecture 12,  4/27
Lecture 13,  4/30
Lecture 14,  5/2
Lecture 15,  5/4
Lecture 16,  5/7
Lecture 17,  5/9
Lecture 18,  5/11
Lecture 19,  5/14
Lecture 20,  5/16
Lecture 21,  5/18
Lecture 22,  5/21
Lecture 23,  5/23
Lecture 24,  5/25
Lecture 25,  5/30
Lecture 26,  6/1
Lecture 27,  6/4

Quizzes/Exams
Quiz 1 Solution
Quiz 2 Solution
Quiz 3 Solution
Quiz 4 Solution
Pop Quiz 1
Pop Quiz 2
Pop Quiz 3
Pop Quiz 4
Midterm I key
Sample Quiz
Sample Quiz key
Old Midterm I
Old Midterm I key
Old Midterm II
Old Midterm II key
Old Final
Old Final key
Dr. David Taylor
Phone:  491-2053
email: d-taylor2@northwestern.edu
Office Hours:  Wed 2:00 – 3:30
     and by appointment
Location:  Dearborn 11

Graduate Assistant:  Andrea Isgro
email: AndreaIsgro2015@u.northwestern.edu
Office Hours:  Mon 4-6 pm, Wed 6-8 pm
Location:  Dearborn 14